You are:

UK Bridges Board membership

UK Bridges Board main image 700

The UK Bridges Board brings together national and local government from across the UK to consider bridges and highway structures engineering matters. It was set up in 2001, and reports to the UK Roads Liaison Group.

Membership and terms of reference
The UK Bridges Board is tasked with:

•developing and promulgating best practice on technical, financial, administrative and operational matters relating to the sustainable construction, maintenance, availability, safety and use of highways bridges, tunnels and other civil engineering structures, taking into account the different circumstances that may arise in the four UK countries and in urban and rural areas; and

•providing a source of advice to UKRLG, government departments, local authority associations and professional bodies across the UK on best practice and priorities for research, within the context of the wider transport picture.
The Board is chaired by Dana Skelley (TfL) and has the following members:

  • Nick Burgess, representing London Underground Ltd
  • Graham Cole, Vice-Chairman of Bridges Group for Association of Directors of Environment, Economy, Planning and Transport (ADEPT)
  • Barry Colford (Forth Road Bridge) representing large bridges
  • Rob Dean, representing Network Rail
  • Kevin Dentith (Devon County Council) representing for Association of Directors of Environment, Economy, Planning and Transport (ADEPT)
  • Richard Fish, Bridge Owners' Forum (BOF)
  • Satbir Gill (Hounslow Highways), representing Technical Advisors' Group (TAG)
  • Harvey Hamilton, representing the Northern Ireland Roads Service
  • Jason Hibbert, representing the Welsh Assembly Government
  • Wayne Hindshaw, representing Transport Scotland
  • Rod Howe, representing the Canel and Rivers Trust
  • Bob Humphreys, representing County Surveyors' Society Wales
  • Liz Kirkham (Gloucestershire County Council) Association of Directors of Environment, Economy, Planning and Transport (ADEPT) - Deputy Chairman of the UK Bridges Board
  • Neil Loudon, representing Highways England
  • Andrew Strang (Perth & Kinross Council), representing the Society of Chief Officers of Transportation in Scotland (SCOTS)
  • Stuart Molyneux, representing the Metropolitan Authorities
  • Stephen Pottle, representing Transport for London
  • TBC, representing the London Bridge Engineers Group (LoBEG)
  • TBC, representing the London Technical Advisors Group (LoTAG)
  • Andrew Stevenson, representing Scottish Canals
  • Steve Berry, representing the Department for Transport